So tonight I did Tae Kwon Do, then I went to the gym and ran 10 minutes at 6.0.  Then I turned around and worked with some weights, bench press, leg press and a multipurpose piece where I worked my arms.

I will put a disclaimer right now sorry if this gets a little to um what’s the proper word for it, “Scholarly”, although I found it an interesting topic, I don’t know if others will. Oh and I do tend to jump around. However, it’s useful information to know, so I hope you all keep reading. This is what I’ve been able to gleam on the aerobic vs. anaerobic front.

Actually this should be more aerobic and anaerobic, as you need both to help create that healthy medium. I believe in a balanced approach to life, the ying and yang type thing. I carry this over into my workout always have and now I understand a little more as to why. The only time I didn’t I hurt my lower back and that’s when I was just starting my college career and was heavy into weight lifting. But that’s another story for another time.

I will start with just the basic Webster Dictionary definitions that relate to this topic;

Aerobic: involving, utilizing, or increasing oxygen consumption for metabolic processes in the body

Anaerobic: of, relating to, or being activity in which the body incurs an oxygen debt.

I made it a little simpler in my notes:

image

I equate this to different systems in the body, the cardiac (aerobic) and muscular (anaerobic).

Aerobic is considered least 15 min of low to medium exercise, such as walking, running, or circuit training.
Anaerobic is short periods with high intensity, weight lifting, sprinting or tennis

So the next part of the equation I found was movement i.e. exercise equals loss of energy… How does the body replace that energy? This is where the oxygen vs lack of oxygen comes into play.

In aerobic you breath deeper and more often so your bringing more oxygen to the body. The body will use oxygen to replenish the what is lost during exercise. This creates waste but instead of being stored up it is carried by the same blood which brought the oxygen.  In anaerobic since their is a lack of oxygen the body burns glycogen, this creates a chemical reaction in the body which produces energy and waste aka lactic acid… Which is flushed away during periods of rest.  that muscle fatigue you feel when lifting or sprinting is lactic acid build up.

At least thats the interpretation I was able to come up with.  I don’t want to get bogged down in details … So I will give you the sites I got the info from.

Have a great night

                              ~John   

livestrong article on aerobic vs anaerobic

http://www.uihealthcare.com/topics/exercisefitness/exer3098.html

