Sorry if anyone missed some sort of witty banter from me yesterday.  Unfortunately I’ve been sidelined slightly with some minor back issues.  It’s just made concentration on the writing process difficult.  Anyway… Enough about that…

So when I was young, not sure on the age, I used to sit and write my own code of honor.  And I’d dream if warriors and knights.  The stuff as an adult well I know is a romanticized version of the truth.

I have always loved the concept of a secret society, made up of warriors. A secretive round table. Out to destroy evil so everyone could be happy.

What made me remember all this? Well I was digging through some stuff and came across this quote:

“Study strategy over the years and achieve the spirit of the warrior. Today is victory over yourself of yesterday; tomorrow is your victory over lesser men.”    ~Miyamoto Musashi

It just brings so much thought to the table about who you will be tomorrow that you can be victorious over yourself of today.

Anyway before I ruin my buzz, I’ll leave you with one of my older poems. I’ve rewritten it a few times but here it is.

It’s titled: The Warriors Weeping

Morning mist covers the battle
Bodies struck down, lay about the field
Victorious hero stands
Comrades lost, enemies slain
Relief and sorrow

And yet to know one day
The angel of such beauty
Shall no longer visit this earth
This will bring the warrior to tears
Breaking the heart, testing the faith

His only saving grace is to know
The fate, his time will come
He will leave this earth
When he does, this beauty forever
Will be within his soul…

Honor

~Whiskey and a Naked Lady

