Martial Arts

Aside from the self-defense and fitness aspects martial arts are a great way to teach confidence, respect, honor, self-esteem, patience and discipline. When you achieve so much over the years within the art you feel a great sense of achievement.

I study Tae Kwon Do at Master Shon’s Black Belt Academy. The Dojang has been there for 15 years and the instructors are awesome.

The meaning of Tae Kwon Do: Tae” means “foot,” “leg,” or “to step on”; “Kwon” means “fist,” or “fight”; and “Do” means the “way” or “discipline.”

I only mention this because I will be testing for my blue belt on February 9th. I will be concentrating very heavily on the ‘Punching and Kicking defense techniques, Hand-Grabs, as well as the two Poomses (forms) I’ll need to remember for the test, among the other testing requirements, like jumping kicks and striking.

I know it all but I always want to do my best at these things. I push for perfection even though I know perfection is not attainable. I just get so hyped up for Tests and Tournaments that I can psych myself out.

I know breathe and relax… count to ten and go…

Taped to my desk at work, I have this…

image

So on that note, I will attempt to put more of the story out next week but I can’t guarantee anything, as my mind will be fully focused on Testing.

Key Words for the next week: Focus – Balance – Breathe

Focus the mind
To balance the body
And breathe success

~Whiskey and a Naked Lady

