This was a busy weekend

My TaeKwonDo belt test was this Saturday, which went well.  I am a perfectionist and I know I screwed up on the form, but I corrected myself and went on so it wasn’t a huge thing. 

I just wanted to be perfect, anyway.  Over all it was good and I’ll have my blue belt next Saturday.  I’ll get it during the belt ceremony or Monday during class.

I did get to spar an instructor… Black Belt – 20 something year old.  Who decided not to take it easy on me which was good… He has been doing tkd for most of his life and is faster than me but I timed some kicks and a few punches which landed on target.  I felt good about that. 

Anyway on to Sunday

This was a long day the family had to be in millcreek for something so I decided to call my mom and go up for a surprise visit. 

We caught up with her walking her puppy and enjoyed a little face time while walking and just talking.  Her puppy was a little scared but I think that was mostly because we were strangers. 

Sunday night

I went for a run around 9 o’clock in the streets… It’s warming slightly so I didn’t mind so much especially when I got warmer.  Anyway… I did 2.48 mile with lap times at 12 and 11 min… My average pace was 5.5 with my top speed being 6.6.  I could have kept going but I stopped for a min to go down some stairs and after that my legs where rubber. 

It was a great feeling to go past that fifteen minute mark.  No aches no pains… Got home stretched and just relaxed. 

Did a 25 routine this morning to wake my legs up a little as they were a little stiff.  25 push ups, 25 sit ups, 25 squats, and 25 leg raises. 

That was my weekend…

John

~Whiskey and a Naked Lady

